Shared solutions to protect shared values

  • Salmon. Photo by Tim Torrell
  • Desert southwest. Photo by Jono Hey / Flickr
  • Boy with frog. Photo by Tom Woodward / Flickr

The Strategy has been guided by input and participation from a diverse group of agencies from across the country. For this reason, federal, state and tribal agencies were asked to participate as members of an intergovernmental Steering Committee to provide advice and support for development of the Strategy.

The Steering Committee consists of representatives from 15 federal agencies with management authorities for fish, wildlife, plants, or their habitat, as well as representatives from five state fish and wildlife agencies and two inter-tribal commissions.

The purpose of the Steering Committee is to exchange views, information, and advice relating to the development and implementation of the Strategy. The Committee oversaw the Technical (writing) Teams, worked to ensure a robust engagement process with a diverse group of stakeholders, and facilitated coordination and communication across agencies and departments.

Co‚Äźchaired by the USFWS, NOAA and State of New York, the Steering Committee is composed of senior representatives from the following organizations:

  • Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
  • Bureau of Indian Affairs
  • Bureau of Land Management
  • Bureau of Reclamation
  • California Department of Fish and Game
  • Environmental Protection Agency: Office of Water
  • Farm Service Agency
  • Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission
  • NOAA: Ocean Service
  • NOAA: Fisheries Service
  • National Park Service
  • Natural Resources Conservation Service
  • New York Division of Fish, Wildlife and Marine Resources
  • North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
  • Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission
  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  • U.S. Forest Service
  • U.S. Geological Survey
  • Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
  • White House Council on Environmental Quality
  • Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources